Seismic Codes

Seismic codes or earthquake codes are building codes designed to protect property and life in buildings in case of earthquakes. The need for such codes is reflected in the saying, “Earthquakes don’t kill people—buildings do.” Or in expanded version, “Earthquakes do not injure or kill people. Poorly built man-made structures injure and kill people.

Check the various famous seismic codes used around the globe below!

  1. United States of America
  2. European Union
  3. India
  4. New Zealand & Australia